Home What is C9 League?

What is C9 League?

The C9 League is an alliance of nine universities in mainland China, which includes Tsinghua University, Peking University, Harbin Institute of Technology, University of Science and Technology of China, Fudan University, Zhejiang University, Nanjing University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University and Xi'an Jiao Tong University.[1] Together they account for 3% of the country's researchers but receive 10% of national research expenditures. They produce 20% of the academic publications and 30% of total citations.[2]

Comprising mostly the most renowned and oldest local universities, C9 is often said to be analogous to the Russell Group in UK, the Go8 in Australia and the Ivy League in the USA.